How I got a steady job at the age of 19.

How I got a steady job at the age of 19.

And so can you.

ยท

5 min read

Let me introduce myself. I am Sairash Sharma Gautam from Nepal and I started coding at the age of 13. The story of my coding journey is as follows, I remember 10 years ago when I was in Grade 5, my computer teacher at school showed me the difference between head and body in a webpage. He didn't teach how to do complex stuff with HTML but that day sparked a new interest in me. As a child I had always been curious and have always been in search of new things to do and learn. I am a firm believer of "A jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one". And I have also based my coding journey according to this belief. I started my coding journey with HTML(For my school) and c# ( For making games with Unity ). I know not a tech stack you would normally expect to start with but I did it anyways. We used to have computer labs(A room filled with computer at school) and when our teacher used to take us there I used to show my friends what game I just built the other day. Everyone would be amazed by what I had just built. BTW this habit has not changed, now instead of showing game I show web and mobile applications. Then when I grew up, at school my teacher used to give questions to solve in Qbasic and I used to solve it in Java ๐Ÿ˜….

I started actual web development as a full-stack about 5 years ago with a dream, A dream to make my own social network where we can chat. I didn't know anything about web development except some HTML and CSS which I had used to develop websites for my friends and my at the time gameplay facebook page. I tried making my own "facebook" many times over but I failed to do so as I lacked in depth knowledge about both the backend and frontend technologies. So I started by making small projects and my first project was a site where you can post images and view other images with simple authentication basically a at the time Instagram clone. It took me about a month and I have had learnt everything about web dev. I used php, html and css to make it. I made many other projects using these technologies like a bus booking app, a clone of airbnb with its own quarks. In these 5 years I did not just make webapps. I learnt python to do machine learning, lua to make a lexer and parser and many other web technologies like laravel, nodejs, vue and svelte with mysql, postgresql and mongodb. I think you have a quite good understanding about how I grew up so now let's talk about how I got my job.

I got my first job when I was in my high school and the employer was my friend's brother. He was trying to build an advance web app to connect all Nepal through gym. I cannot give you more information because of NDA but it was quite a complex app. I worked there for about 1 year and 3 months. By the time I left that Job I had graduated from my high school. I did not get any other job for about 4 months as I was exhausted and was preparing for my SATs. I did my SATs with good score but could not leave my little sister behind so I did not go to the US. So when I planned to study at Nepal I decided to get a new job as a full stack developer. I wrote my CV like a grade student but for my surprise I got replies from all the companies I had applied to. I went with the one called View9, had 2 interview which was easy to get through and I was an employee now. I have been working there for 8 months now and my job is to do server side, backend and frontend with sql management aswell but my job in the beginning was to make frontend with vue and change figma designs to actual responsive design.

So this was my journey and everybody has there own journey. I was quite lucky to have started doing what I did early which gave me the advantage most don't have. I had time to learn everything on my own and now I am the most popular kid in my college๐Ÿ˜‚. I made my own social network named dantyakatha Link but it's a mess right now. And I have also started learning about making mobile application for my social networking site. I made it using express, vue and socket.io but I am planning to change it to sveltekit.

I made my own free movie and series site named Kulfi Link

My git links are

Git 1 Git 2

At last all I have to say is I am the proof that anyone and any age can get a job if you try hard enough. You just need the passion and the will to do it. I was and am still learning new skills to do and make more cool stuffs.

You can visit my playable portfolio sairash.github.io Link I will be writing about how I made this playable portfolio soon.

Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ˜

ย